How do I build TDL? Topic is solved

How-to's and other software related queries

Moderator: abstr

bgrupczy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:08 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by bgrupczy » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:58 pm

Using VS2010, I'm building 7.2.12 from CodeProject. Where I now see the versions of VS! Missed it! ("Application Source (7.2.12) - 3.4 MB (Includes all plugins - compiles under VC6, VS2005/2008/2010, VS2013, VS2015)")

Problem with one project:

C:\Users\bgrupczy\Documents\todolist_src\TDLTransEdit\TDLTransEdit.vcxproj : error : Project "C:\Users\bgrupczy\Documents\todolist_src\TDLTransEdit\TDLTransEdit.vcxproj" could not be found.

Here is my full build error list:

Cannot open include file: '..\Interfaces\TasklistSchemaDef.h': No such file or directory C:\Users\bgrupczy\Documents\todolist_src\RTFContentCtrl\RTFContentControl.cpp 31 1 RTFContentCtrl
Cannot open include file: '..\Interfaces\TasklistSchemaDef.h': No such file or directory C:\Users\bgrupczy\Documents\todolist_src\ToDoList\TDCMergeTasklist.cpp 9 1 ToDoList
Cannot open include file: '..\Interfaces\TasklistSchemaDef.h': No such file or directory C:\Users\bgrupczy\Documents\todolist_src\ToDoList\TDCSimpleTextContent.cpp 25 1 ToDoList
Cannot open include file: '..\Interfaces\TasklistSchemaDef.h': No such file or directory c:\users\bgrupczy\documents\todolist_src\kanbanboard\kanbanctrl.cpp 29 1 KanbanBoard
Cannot open include file: 'tdcsort.h': No such file or directory c:\users\bgrupczy\documents\todolist_src\todolist\TDCmapping.h 16 1 ToDoList

bgrupczy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:08 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by bgrupczy » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:18 pm

Missed one:

Error 3 error MSB3073: The command "mkdir ..\ToDoList
mkdir ..\ToDoList\unicode_debug
copy unicode_debug\transtext.dll ..\todolist\unicode_debug /y
copy unicode_debug\transtext.dll ..\..\todolist_Plugins_7.2\debug /y
copy unicode_debug\transtext.pdb ..\..\todolist_Plugins_7.2\debug /y


:VCEnd" exited with code 1. C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets 113 6 TransText

bgrupczy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:08 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by bgrupczy » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:23 pm

And here is a warning probably worth addressing:

Project file contains ToolsVersion="14.0". This toolset may be unknown or missing, in which case you may be able to resolve this by installing the appropriate version of MSBuild, or the build may have been forced to a particular ToolsVersion for policy reasons. Treating the project as if it had ToolsVersion="4.0". For more information, please see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=291333.

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by abstr » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:16 am

>> missing tdcsort.h

Sorry about that, CodeProject always lags behind... You are best getting your code from GitHub.

ps. That toolset warning is not an issue - it's because I develop on VS2015 that causes bits of VS2015 to 'bleed' into the VS2010 project files. Now that you are actively seeking to build the code and give good feedback means that hopefully we can iron out most of these issues fairly quickly.
pps. Make sure you also install SP1 for VS2010.
ppps. I have just fixed that Post Build copy error on GitHub

bgrupczy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:08 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by bgrupczy » Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:14 am

Installed SP1 as directed.

Grabbed a clone of the repo. Built with ZERO errors. Have not had a chance to try under Wine. Likely tomorrow.

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by abstr » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:15 am

>> Built with ZERO errors

Sweet!

Looking forward to hearing about your investigations...

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by abstr » Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:33 am

ps. Can you post any updates as a new post please.

trumaxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:09 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by trumaxx » Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:22 pm

This post has been very helpful. I was getting lots of problems trying to build with VS2015 and VS2017 then found this post.
Using VS2010 it builds without a problem !

Some questions regarding the executable module size:

Why does the size of my built ToDoList.exe rise to 15.453 KB whilst with a normal installation it is only 2.392 KB ?
Is it related to all the DLL's being part of the EXE ?
If so, is there advantages of one over the other - like load times ?
How can I similarly reduce the size of my EXE ?

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by abstr » Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:35 am

If you are building the software in 'debug' then that would account for the size.

If you right-click on the toolbars in VS2010 and ensure that the 'Build' toolbar is selected then you should see a droplist containing 'Unicode Debug' and 'Unicode Release'.

'Unicode Release' is the one I deliver to you...

trumaxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:09 pm

Re: How do I build TDL?

Post by trumaxx » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:53 am

Thanks for your reply.

Followed your steps and the size was reduced accordingly.

Post Reply